Uncertainty looms large as Pakistan squad prepares to leave for England

PCB Logo

The 18-strong squad is due to leave on Sunday and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chief executive Wasim Khan said the left out players could rejoin if they later test negative for the disease. "It will be interesting to see what is the result of the second test taken today of the 10 players, who tested positive in the first test earlier this week will come", the source said. "Now, the tests are done, my advice to Hafeez was to go for the re-test, but he should not have posted the result of his second Test on Twitter, he should have confronted the PCB, you should not get on bad terms with the board".

Pakistani squad will be without some key players during England series after they were dropped from the squad for being tested positive for cornavirus, the Pakistan Cricket Board has said.

Wasim Khan said Pakistan were observing European Central Bank guidelines.

So, as a result, 20 players and 11 members of the support staff will be travelling to England first. "As soon as these players test negative twice through the PCB testing process they will be flown to England to join the squad".

Of the five reserve players, he said four - Moosa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Bilal Asif and Mohammad Nawaz - had tested negative and one - Imran Butt - had tested positive.

Veteran batsman Mohammad Hafeez, who himself got tested negative a day after PCB's results were made public, has once again tested negative.

According to PCB, Pakistan bowling coach Waqar Younis will join the side directly from Australia, while veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik "is expected to travel around July 24".

After first testing positive this week, follow-up tests were given to Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, Haider Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Wahab Riaz, Imran Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain and Kashif Bhatti.

"The squad will head towards Worcestershire where they will undergo the England and Wales Cricket Board testing before completing their 14-day isolation period, during which they will be allowed to train and practice", the cricket board mentioned in its press release.

The side will move to Derbyshire on July 13 to prepare for their three-Test and three T20 global series against the home side in August-September.

The squad to fly on Sunday is: Azhar Ali (Test captain), Babar Azam (Twenty20 captain), Abid Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Ahmad, Khushdil Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari, Imad Wasim, and Yasir Shah.