Silver Sluggers: Braves trio claim hitting honors for first time

Todd Kirkland  Getty Images

First-timers for the American League are Cleveland Indians first baseman Carlos Santana, New York Yankees infielder DJ LeMahieu, Houston Astros infielder Alex Bregman and Minnesota Twins catcher Mitch Garver. There is no Silver Slugger Award in the American League because pitchers do not take at-bats.

The Louisville Slugger® Silver Slugger™ Award winners are decided by a vote of MLB managers and coaches who select the players they determine to be the best offensive producers at each position in the American and National Leagues.

This is Realmuto's first career Gold Glove honor, while being his second Silver Slugger, having won the award after his final season with the Miami Marlins in 2018 when he slugged 30 doubles, 21 home runs and 74 RBI in 125 games. Garver joins five-time Silver Slugger victor Joe Mauer as the only Twins catcher to earn the honor.

He led the NL in both batting average (.329, his second consecutive year winning that title in the NL) and on-base percentage (.429).

The most productive Major League Baseball hitters for 2019 were recognized on Thursday with the announcement of the annual Silver Slugger awards. He was also named the victor of the Hank Aaron Award; He received that trophy in the World Series. He recorded a.413 on-base percentage and a.590 slugging percentage while hitting safely in 13 of the 17 games on the way to a World Series championship. The accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP verified the tabulation of balloting.