Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2020 Inductees

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2020

The late Whitney Houston and rapper The Notorious B.I.G. are among this year's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees. The organization announced Wednesday that the late R&B/Soul and hip-hop icons will be inducted alongside Depeche Mode, the Doobie Brothers, Nine Inch Nails and T. Rex.

Depeche Mode was first eligible for nomination in 2006 and received its first nomination in 2018.

The artists will officially be inducted on May 2 at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio. First-time contenders Dave Matthews Band, Pat Benatar, Motörhead, Thin Lizzy, and Soundgarden have another shot next year, same with returning nominees Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk (nominated six times prior), Todd Rundgren, and MC5 (nominated five times previously). (Christopher Wallace), departed pop/R&B vocal GOAT Whitney Houston and Trent Reznor of industrial rock outfit Nine Inch Nails enter the RRHOF as solo individuals. "A huge thank-you to everyone who has supported us and our music over the years [and] who have made this possible". They are among the 2020 inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Reznor told Rolling Stone in an interview published after the announcement that he was "freaked out" and "quite in shock" about the accolade. "So I'm allowing myself, for a limited period of time, to feel good about this". Ballots to determine final induction voting were sent to approximately 1,000 artists, historians, and other members of the music industry.

This year's performance lineup will inevitably be filled with tribute performances, as half of the inductees - Houston, Notorious B.I.G.

The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame have announced their Class Of 2020.

Viewers can tune in to the 35th annual snow on Saturday, May 2, at 8 p.m. ET.

All remaining tickets will go live on February 27 at the same time.