World Media

EU Plans to Bar Most US Travelers When Bloc Reopens

Coronavirus EU set to reopen borders to 14 countries on 1 July

On June 11, the Commission presented its recommendation on the reopening of internal Schengen borders on June 15, so that Europeans can travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did pre-pandemic.

On the current "safe" list, still likely to be amended, are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay, BBC News reported.

The list for entry does not include the United States and represents a major blow to the American image globally.

Tourists are seen by the Bridge of Sighs a day before Italy and neighbouring European Union countries open up borders for the first time since the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak hit the country, in Venice, Italy June 14, 2020.

The EU will continue to ban travellers from the U.S. and most other countries beyond July 1, EU diplomats told German news agency dpa.

According to Schengen Visa Website, Kenyans, Burundians, and Tanzanian were among the affected citizens whose travels to any of the European Union member state will not be permitted.

The 27-member bloc is expected to give outline approval to leisure or business travel from Wednesday to 14 countries beyond its borders when they vote on the list by midday Brussels time, the diplomats said.

The United States appears nearly certain not to make the list, as new infections surge and given that President Donald Trump has imposed a ban on European travelers.

The EU authorities are also keeping an eye on the trend of stability or decrease in new cases as well as measures a country has put in place to fight against the pandemic, such as testing practices.

Visitors from Kenya are set to remain banned from entering any of the 31 European countries when borders reopen on July 1.

It is said the countries however managed to create a list of the countries with a better epidemiological situation, the citizens of which will be able to enter Europe by the end of next week.

Countries like Germany and Spain, horrified by the devastation of COVID-19, wanted to play it safe.