Citizens of 54 countries allowed to travel to European Union nations from July

Alex Caparros  Getty Images

Algeria, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand and Tunisia rounded out the countries, which was agreed to by vote among the EU's 27 member states.

China is also on the European Union list, but only on the condition of reciprocal action by the Chinese authorities, " one of the Member States announces in a press release.

Citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the U.S. and Russian Federation will only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the pandemic situation in these countries improves.

Although the EU Council's recommendation was not a legal binding instrument, only travel restrictions on the countries on the "safe" list could be lifted.

While Portugal and Greece, whose economies are highly dependent on tourism, have called for more countries on the list.

More than 15 million Americans are estimated to travel to Europe each year, while some 10 million Europeans head across the Atlantic.

Writer Matina Stevis-Gridneff also confirmed that while "Diplomats did not expect the list to change" ahead of the July 1 deadline, it will be reevaluated every two weeks to reflect the current situation regarding the pandemic.

A Kenyan passport. Kenya is among countries that have been banned to travel to Europe. The now experiencing a surge in new infections.

Americans are excluded from the list in the short term due to the number of United States coronavirus cases.

Last Saturday, we reported that a draft list of 54 countries was being discussed by European Union members.

British citizens travel freely in the European Union until the end of December, when the Brexit transit period expires.

The EU's efforts to reopen internal borders, particularly among the 26-nation Schengen area which normally has no frontier checks, have been patchy as various countries have restricted access for certain visitors.

Non-EU citizens who are already living in Europe are not included in the ban.

The EU put in place a temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the bloc on March 17, initially for a period of 30 days but extended on several occasions. The requirement also applies to United Kingdom citizens.