Britton: Why I voted Jacob deGrom for Cy Young

Jacob de Grom and Dwight Gooden

He becomes the second Cy Young victor in Rays history, joining David Price (2012). One can only imagine that the Rays would love to lock Snell up to a long-term pact, but a historically dominant campaign has unequivocally raised the asking price for the newest Tampa Bay ace. Cleveland's Corey Kluber finished a distant third, followed by Chris Sale, Gerrit Cole, Trevor Bauer, Blake Treinen, Edwin Diaz and Luis Severino, in that order (full voting breakdown here). With an MLB-best 1.70 ERA, 11.2 K/9 and 1.9 BB/9 in 217 innings this past season. deGrom can now add a Cy Young trophy to a list of accolades that also includes 2014 Rookie of the Year honors and a pair of All-Star nods.

Jacob deGrom was revealed tonight as the National League's top pitcher in 2018 in a lopsided vote over Scherzer, who was trying to join elite company with his fourth career and third consecutive Cy Young Award. The right-hander won just 10 games, the fewest by a Cy Young-winning starter.

Snell returned on August 4 in a four-inning start and then reeled off nine consecutive wins. "To be a Cy Young Award victor, you're in great company, and it truly is an honor". DeGrom got 29 first-place votes and 207 points from members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The 2014 NL Rookie of the Year, he became the seventh rookie victor voted a Cy Young, joining fellow Mets Tom Seaver and Dwight Gooden.

"This mean as whole lot", Snell said."It's something I wanted to achieve this year".

The 52nd overall pick in the 2011 draft from Shorewood High School in Seattle, Snell reached the majors in 2016 but struggled at the outset of 2017 and returned to Triple-A for seven starts. And it's what made voting for this year's NL Cy Young victor a privilege. He was attempting to become the first player since Randy Johnson to win three consecutive Cy Youngs. Somers wasted no time in making fun of Maffei and the writer responded by ending the interview literally as soon as it started.

Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals finished second in the voting and Phillies ace Aaron Nola placed third.

Verlander led the AL with 290 strikeouts while going 16-9 with a 2.52 ERA for AL West champion Houston.

Kluber was attempting to win his second straight Cy Young and third overall.