Business

Uber to Begin Banning Riders With Low Ratings

Share
Your rider rating means a lot more now

Done right, however, it's easy to see how this kind of feature could generate more usage for the app, whose drivers already unofficially venture into territory like this anyway. Gone are the days where one friend has to abstain from partying in order to be the designated driver.

Jerks of the world, listen up: for years, you've been misbehaving in the back seats of Ubers without effect. A passenger's rating is the average of the ratings they have received from drivers. It's a scary prospect. For example, making off-app arrangements with an Uber driver is not that uncommon. Initially, only drivers were prone to get banned from Uber in case their ratings were below average.

'Respect is a two-way street, and so is accountability, ' Kate Parker head of safety brand and initiatives, wrote in a blog post. "Drivers have always been expected to meet a minimum rating threshold which can vary city to city".

The nation's leading e-hail company has announced that customers may be subject to ratings-based rider deactivations should their rider rating fall significantly below average.

The news comes only a few weeks after Uber and Lyft employees went on strike for better working conditions.

Though drivers could rate passengers, there was no equivalency in consequences.

It's unclear how low will be too low to keep your account.

"Deactivating the accounts of the drivers who provide consistently poor experiences ensures that Uber continues to be known for quality", the document said, adding that only two to three percent of partners in the area were in danger of falling below 4.6.

Riders concerned with their ratings can check their standing by opening the Uber app and clicking the icon in the upper-left corner.

To check out your current score, log onto the app and look at the number under your username.

It you misbehave repeatedly while getting a ride from Uber, you could get booted. Was it you Amanda?

Riders will start to see a screen on the app that summarizes community guidelines and then asks them to confirm their understanding of the new terms.

Share