World Media

Trent Thompson named to 2017 Nagurski and Outland Trophy watch lists

Gates Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Michigan State senior center Brian Allen has been named to the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List.

The Sooners last won the Outland Trophy in 2004 when offensive tackle Jammal Brown was named the victor.

Mizzou senior defensive end Marcell Frazier has been named to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. 24 offensive tackles, 21 defensive tackles, 20 centers and 16 offensive guards comprise the watch list.

The Outland Trophy, selected by the FWAA, is given to the top interior lineman in the nation.

Tennessee football has had two Outland Trophy winners since the award's beginning in 1946.

The duo landed on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list on Thursday, an annual awarded handed down in December to college football's most outstanding defensive player.

Last year's victor of the trophy was Jonathan Allen from Alabama who went on to get selected No. 17 overall by the Redskins in the 2017 NFL Draft.

Former Notre Dame great Ross Browner, a defensive end that was a two-time All-American for the Irish (1976-77) will be honored at the ceremony recognizing the 2017 victor of the Nagurski Trophy. He was also second on the team with 23 quarterback pressures. Nagurski was a legendary two-way player for the Gophers and dominated college football before finding fame for the Chicago Bears in the 1930s. He led the Spartans with four interceptions and finished first in the conference and fourth nationally with his 18 total passes defended (1.5/game - four interceptions + 14 pass break-ups) in 12 games. He made a team- and career-high 110 tackles on the season to become the first Penn State safety to lead the team in tackles since Shawn Mayer (144) in 2002. Players may be added or removed from the list throughout the season.

McGlinchey and Nelson are one of 12 offensive line teammates on the Outland Trophy Watch list. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the victor.

Armstrong and his Jayhawk teammates will begin the 2017 season on Saturday, September 2 with a home game against Southeast Missouri State.