Smith, Warner left out of Australia’s ODI squad for Pakistan


Trevor Hohns, chairman of selectors, said that Smith and Warner will be better playing at the Indian Premier League (IPL) that commences on March 23 in Chennai.

While the right-hand batsman will represent Rajasthan Royals, the left-handed opener will turn out for last season's runners up SunRisers Hyderabad.

Smith and Warner's elbow injuries ultimately made it an easy call for CA, who decided the former captain and vice-captain's reintegration will instead come during a World Cup training camp in Brisbane in early May.

Cricket Australia has confirmed that David Warner and Steve Smith will not play against Pakistan, but rather in the IPL in order to first regain match fitness for the World Cup. But Cricket Australia has left them out of their 15-member squad saying that the best route for the duo is via the Indian Premier League.

Smith went under the knife in January after being forced to drop out of the Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 tournament with a ligament problem. Both men have been in touch with Australia's team management, including coach Justin Langer, and all three of them were part of discussions that culminated in delaying their comeback to global cricket.

The scandal rocked the sport and led to national coach Darren Lehmann resigning and an overhaul of senior executives at governing body Cricket Australia.

Australia's ODI squad to face Pakistan: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins, Alex Carey, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa.

Warner also returned home from Bangladesh with an injured elbow, though less serious than Smith. "Cricket Australia will continue to liaise with both Steve, David and their IPL clubs to monitor progress as we build towards the ICC World Cup and the Ashes", Hohns added.

Banned Australian star duo Steven Smith, David Warner have been overlooked for the forthcoming limited over tour of UAE despite the suspension ending before the tour.

First two matches will be held in Sharjah on March 22 and 24, followed by one game on March 27 in Abu Dhabi and two in Dubai.