Paul Pogba: I don't deserve to win the Ballon d'Or

Ballon d'Or LIVE updates- Bale and Aguero among first nominees

Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been included among the 30 players nominated for the 2018 Ballon d'Or award which is sponsored by renowned French magazine France Football. Although Manchester United keeper David de Gea seems to have not been chosen in the shortlist for the footballing award.

The 26-year-old broke the record of scoring the most goals in a 38-game Premier League campaign, last season, beating Tottenham Hotspur forward Harry Kane to the Golden Boot award with 32 goals for his club.

Real Madrid and Wales forward Gareth Bale and Manchester City's Belgium midfielder Kevin De Bruyne were among the first 15 nominees for the Ballon d'Or award announced on Monday.

Antoine Griezmann is one of the great favorites to take the prize due to his triumphs in the Europe League, the UEFA Super Cup title and, above all, the World Cup in Russian Federation, where he was one of the most outstanding players.

Griezmann won the World Cup with France, finishing as the man of the match in the final and he also finished as the Europa League's best player with a brace in the final.

No City player has won the coveted prize and Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated the award over the past decade, winning it five times each.

The full list will contain 30 players the names of whom will be revealed throughout the day.

The Ballon d'Or has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, with former England global Sir Stanley Matthews the first victor.

Roberto Firmino from Brazil, Liverpool and Diego Godin from Uruguay, Atletico Madrid.

The victor of the Ballon d'Or will be announced in Paris on December 3 by France Football. "He can play at any club in the world".

For six years it combined with world football's governing body to become the Fifa Ballon d'Or.