Newcastle United will not have enjoyed playing against Burton Albion

Featured Image

After the game, Stroud issued an apology through Professional Game Match Officials Limited.

However, the rules state an indirect free-kick is only awarded if the attacking player encroaches the area and the penalty is missed.

Newcastle United were wrongly denied the chance to retake a penalty during their 1-0 win over Burton Albion that returned them to the top of the Championship table.

Newcastle thought they got their deserved lead from the spot-kick mid-way through the first-half when Matt Ritchie sent the goalkeeper the wrong way.

When Dwight Gayle was barged to the ground early in the first half Keith Shroud wasted no time in awarding the home side a penalty kick.

It read: "Unfortunately the referee has misapplied the Law".

However, to the confusion of everyone in the ground and everyone on Twitter, Shroud blew his whistle to disallow the goal before awarding Burton Albion a free-kick.

In weird circumstances, however, he disallowed the goal rather than order a re-take as the law dictates - much to the bewilderment of Newcastle and manager Rafa Benitez.

90' FULL-TIME #htafc 3-0 #ncfc : Excellent performance; three goals in seven minutes earns Town the three points!

Newcastle manager Benitez stressed the need to "move forward" after the game, saying: "The referee and me have been talking". We have to be ready to be stronger for the next one. Stroud claimed he had seen a foul by Gayle when Ritchie was taking his penalty. After the incident we were losing our focus.

Benitez could at least smile after Ritchie scored a 68th-minute victor to put Toon back on top of the Championship.

Newcastle are expected to make just one change to their starting line-up which takes on Burton in the Championship on Wednesday evening.