IndyCar LIVE! The 2019 Indy 500 *CLOSED

Shawn Gritzmacher  IndyCar

Simon Pagenaud came away with the victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway after a truly heart-stopping final trip around the 2.5-mile circuit.

The race resumed on lap 149 with Pagenaud back in charge, having led 102 laps so far - the first time a driver had led more than 100 laps in the Indy 500 since 2010.

Three-time Indianapolis 500 victor Helio Castroneves was assessed a drive-through penalty after hitting James Davison on pit lane early in the race.

Pole victor Simon Pagenaud and defending race victor Will Power, both teammates of Castroneves, continued to hold the top two after 45 laps of the 200-lap race.

Pagenaud has dominated the race from the pole after leading just 36 laps total in his seven previous Indy 500 starts. "The milk motivated me".

"We've come through a life of trying to achieve this and I am just speechless", Pagenaud said. "I think we had the superior vehicle, we just didn't have enough there at the end". Simon Pagenaud will lead the way after winning the pole last weekend. Indianapolis records count five French winners, but Gil de Ferran in 2003 and Gaston Chevrolet in 1920, while born in France, list other nationalities. The American leaned in for a genuine embrace.

"This one will be hard to get over, but at the end of the day, it was a great showing for the team and good for the points overall". But a troublesome fuel hose on a pit stop caused a lengthy delay, and Rossi was angrily pounding his steering wheel while imploring the Andretti crew to get him back on track. As Rossi finally raced past Servia, he angrily raised his fist at the Spaniard.

"A bunch of hungry, angry cars behind me", Rossi said. But little did Mears know, Penske had his eye on the young hotshot driver, and would hire him to drive the following year.

With 13 laps to go, Pagenaud and Rossi traded the lead at least a half-dozen times after a restart with 13 laps remaining.

Santino Ferrucci was the highest-finishing rookie, taking seventh place in the No. 19 Cly-Del Manufacturing Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.

The Brazilian is a three-time victor at the Brickyard, while former winners Will Power, Scott Dixon and Takuma Sato are also in the mix. Colton Herta had problems nearly immediately and left the race with a mechanical problem.