Technology

Google to finally shut down Google Plus as massive security breach revealed

Share
Google+ Shutting Down After Bug Leaks Info of 500k Accounts

According to an internal memo viewed by the Wall Street Journal, Google feared disclosing the issue would be detrimental to its reputation and draw unwanted regulatory attention.

The profile data that was exposed included full names, email addresses, birth dates, gender, profile photos, places lived, occupation and relationship status; it didn't include phone numbers, email messages, timeline posts, direct messages or any other type of communication data. Alphabet Inc, Google's parent company, said about 5,00,000 Google+ accounts were potentially affected by a bug that may have exposed their data to external developers.

In addition to shutting down Google+, Google also said that it will limit the access it gives to developers to user data on Android devices and Gmail.

Google said the flaw was patched immediately and that there was no evidence that the leaked information was used by any third-party developers. One of the findings that stemmed from Project Strobe was that the consumer version of Google+ was no longer worth maintaining.

Google has chose to shut down the consumer version of its failed social network Google+.

Further speaking on the issue, Google has said that they have no evidence that any outside developer has misused users private data.

Google says that 90 per cent of Google+ user sessions lasted for less than five seconds.

However, Google only keeps the log data of the API in question for two weeks, due to privacy reasons, and therefore "cannot confirm which users were impacted by this bug", Smith added.

The incident also marks the beginning of the end for Google+, which the company plans to shut down over the next year.

Project Strobe will also lead to Google account holders getting more fine-grained controls over the data they share with apps, which now have overly broad access to user information, Google said.

Once you're in your Google Plus account, go to settings and scroll to the very bottom of the tab and select on the "Delete your Google+ Profile" link.

The only way to fully delete your Google+ account at this time is to completely delete your Google Account, which you can do here.

Google will wind down Google+ during the coming 10 months to allow people time to download pictures, videos or other data they want from their accounts.

Share