Four Euro 2020 spots up for grabs in Nations League

Robbie Brady with Ben Davies

Scotland will play in League C, which will be broken into four groups when the draw takes place on January 24, 2018.

League A includes the likes of world champions Germany, reigning European Championship winners Portugal, France and England.

Uefa has confirmed the line-up of each of the four leagues that make up the inaugural Nations League, the European competition created to replace most global friendlies.

But it also means there is likely to be some more convoluted permutations as the Euro 2020 qualifiers draw to a close about who or who could not make the play-offs.

While the competition is completely separate to qualifiers for the European Championships, the top four-ranked League B teams who don't qualify will be entered into play-offs (to take place in March 2020).

Each of the four Nations League "Leagues" will have four play-off spots available for group winners, meaning 16 teams will go into four, four-team mini-tournaments to vie for four places at Euro 2020.

In each league, four group winners are promoted (or play in the Finals, see below) and four teams are relegated for the next competition to be played in 2020.

Ireland will be joined by Wales, Austria, Slovakia, Russia, Sweden, Ukraine, Bosnia, Northern Ireland, Demark, Turkey and the Czech Republic. However, if a whole league does not have enough teams for a play-off, which is conceivable in League A, then the places will be filled by the best-ranked teams from the league below.

The third pot consists of Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria and Finland, while the final pot has just three sides - Cyprus, Estonia and Lithuania.

Teams will be split into one group of three and three groups of four.

The other 43 European nations will be spread across three other Leagues B, C and D - the group winners will be promoted to replace the nations finishing bottom of Leagues A, B and C for the next Nations League which begins in September 2020.

League D: Azerbaijan, FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino and Gibraltar.

Each league will have its own play-off competition with single-leg semi-final and final to decide who gets the final four places.

Wales have missed out on potentially money-spinning games after failing to make it into League A in the new UEFA Nations League format.