World Media

Assam: BJP to push citizenship bill again; asserts Himanta after victory

Narendra Modi meets party leaders after election win in India

With Gandhi losing in the family bastion of Amethi - but winning handsomely from Wayanad - district unit president Yogendra Misra also sent a letter resigning from the post. According to which a NDA meeting has been convened at the Central Hall on Saturday at 5 a.m. But there are some questions on whether an invite will be sent to Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan after the deadly Pulwama terror attack.

It is worth mentioning here that in the recently held Assembly elections, Congress had won in seven Legislative Assemblies while BJP managed to win in one while the other was won by Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (Jogi).

As the Congress debacle led to murmurs about accountability and questions on Rahul Gandhi continuing as party president, reports came in of the party's Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar, Odisha Congress president Niranjan Patnaik and Karnataka unit's H K Patil sending in their resignations claiming moral responsibility.

"On the citizenship bill issue, we could not reach out properly and they have been able to polarise the vote", said Tarun Gogoi.

Even senior Congress leaders like Jyotiraditya Scindia, Digvijaya Singh, and Kantilal Bhuriya have been trailing from Guna, Bhopal, and Ratlam parliamentary constituencies respectively.

Former Commonwealth Games gold medallist Poonia, who had won a seat during the legislative assembly elections in Rajasthan previous year, finished second to BJP's Rathore.

"If Muslims like Ahmadiyas can prove they are persecuted in Bangladesh or Pakistan and they want refuge in India, let them give an affidavit in an Indian court and we will take it up", said Himanta, insisting, "I need some definite document but mind you we are not opposed to Muslims". Leading in another 31 seats, the BJP is set to surpass its 2014 performance when it won 282 seats.

The party has already elevated the status of party minister Anil Rajbhar to counter the fallout of the exit of Om Prakash Rajbhar of Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party from the alliance. The party is ahead in one constituency where counting is still under way.

Former Prime Minister Deve Gowda vacated Hassan seat to field his grandson Revanna from there, and himself contested from Tumkur, which he lost to BJP's GS Basavaraj by over 12,000 votes. Modi's BJP has won 302 of these.

The Section 151A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 stipulates that a by-election has to be held within six months of a seat falling vacant in an Assembly or Lok Sabha.

Gum Tayeng who represented Dambuk constituency in Lower Dibang Valley district, retained the seat by defeating her nearest rival Tony Pertin of the NPP by 873 votes.

"We have no idea what a resurgent Hindu nationalist, with a second single party majority, will choose to do with that kind of untrammelled power".